Live 2 B Healthy® Blog

Taking Your Body Where Your Mind Wants To Go

From the Aging Marketing Director (4)

Leave a comment

There comes a time in just about everyone’s life, when you begin to realize that you can’t just continue to eat what you like with impunity.  For me, that started to become obvious in my late 40s.  Coffee not only kept me up at night, but starting giving me stomach trouble.  I hadn’t changed my eating habits, but my bathroom scale stopped being as forgiving as it used to be.  And, I began to experience mild joint stiffness, lower back pain and muscle cramps in my legs at night.  Nothing really unfamiliar or scary – I had heard the older adults in my life talking about similar experiences for as long as I could remember.  But, once it started to become a reality for me – I decided I to see if I could make some changes to my lifestyle and perhaps affect some physical changes as well.

Coincidentally (or maybe not), the awareness of these negative age-related changes emerged in my life at about the same time I began as Marketing Director for Live 2 B Healthy®.  Working with Cory (Live 2 B Healthy® Founder and President), I heard about the benefits of physical fitness and aging.  And I thought – if it works for others, maybe it will work for me as well?

I started off “easy”, as I hadn’t exercised regularly for a number of years and I knew I was out of shape and carrying around an extra 20+ pounds.  I downloaded an app called Couch Potato to 5K and committed to trying it out.  The first walk/jog around the block did almost kill me, but not quite!  I lived to complete the entire training program, then moved onto the 5K-10K app.  I was so excited to be able to actually complete the equivalent of a 10K, that I tried to extend my distance even further.  Well, you may be a able to anticipate the outcome – I suffered an injury to my hip, which prevented me from even a short jog around the block.

I had come so far, and it was so hard, that the injury almost broke my spirit!  Then I saw a coupon to try out a local group fitness class.  One of the options was a Spin class, and I knew that would not irritate my injury, so I gave it a try.

Leave a Reply

